Life’s Unanswerable Questions

Sometimes we all have questions about life.  We wonder why we are here, what we’re supposed to be doing, and if we’re on the right path.  There are some questions in life we may never be able to answer.  Questions that probe deep into the depths of our very existence on Earth.

This post takes a look at some of these unanswerable questions in the hopes that future generations may discover and unlock the secrets buried deep within the fabric of the universe.


Question #1: Who makes up the serving sizes for potato chips?

I’m sure you’ve seen the slogan that says: “Betcha can’t eat just one.”  While that is a true statement, who opens a bag of chips and intends to only eat one?  I don’t know about you but I normally decide I’m done eating chips when my hand encounters nothing but pulverized chip dust and salt at the bottom of the bag.

I’ve seen serving sizes on bags of potato chips as low as four.  Four!

Is there anyone out there who eats four ships and feels full?  Four chips are not a realistic serving at all but it is a good way to fool people into believing that the chips are lower in calories than we’d like them to be.

Here’s the deal.  If you need to look at the calories on a bag of chips, you probably shouldn’t be eating them at all.


Question #2: Why are the least liked candy flavors also the most plentiful in the bag?

I’m not a big candy eater but I do enjoy eating it on occasion especially while watching movies.  But it seems like every time I open a bag of Skittles, it’s chock full of lemon.  Lemon Skittles are okay but they are far from my favorite and I’d wager that I’m not alone.

Why can’t I open a bag and find they screwed up and filled it with nothing but cherry and grape flavored Skittles?  Would that be so bad?

Or am I wrong?  Are there droves of lemon lovers out there that Skittles is catering to because they make up such a vast amount of the market?


Question #3: Why do I hear the same songs on my way home from work that I heard on my way to work?

I don’t live that far from work.  My drive is only about fifteen minutes so I normally only get in a few songs before the twenty-minute commercial break.  Despite the short opportunity to hear music, it seems like the same songs that played in the morning play again each evening on my drive home.  And it doesn’t seem to matter which station I listen to.  This phenomenon is pervasive.

I think someone from the radio station is stalking me to make sure I only hear those particular songs.  It’s kind of like a group of people suddenly hushing because the person about whom they are gossiping walks by.


Question #4: How do my stereo wires get tangled up by themselves?

No one goes back there.  Ever.  But anytime I need to add or remove a component from my home theater the wires are twisted together like Pippi Longstocking has been back there practicing her braids.

Perhaps tiny people live in my walls.  Maybe they come out at night to do the only thing that gives them entertainment.  Wire twisting.


Question # 5: Why can’t fast food restaurants get lids that fit their cups?

Whether I fill the cup myself or I get it at the drive-through, it seems like the lid is always hanging on for dear life.  It’s just a fraction of a millimeter from complete separation.

This wouldn’t be altogether a bad thing but the lid is what gives the cup its structural integrity.  Without the lid the cup will collapse in on itself and wonderful, amazing diet Coke will slosh from the cup and into my lap.

When you try to push the lid on for a better fit, it just smashes the rim and makes the problem worse.


Conclusion

These are just five of all the things we will never know or understand.  Perhaps, long after humans have gone extinct, some alien race will stumble upon this blog and offer answers that we can’t even fathom with our tiny human minds.  Until then, if you have an unanswerable question, please leave it in the comments below.

Leave a comment...

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

